SI Vault
June 06, 2011
End of An Era
Decrease font Decrease font
Enlarge font Enlarge font
June 06, 2011

Short Laps

View CoverRead All Articles

End of An Era

• For the first time since 1992, a car owned by Roger Penske failed to finish in the top 10 at the Indy 500. Penske has won the race a record 15 times, but on Sunday all three of his drivers—series points leader Will Power (he came in 14th), Helio Castroneves (17th) and Ryan Briscoe (27th)—either were in accidents or suffered time-draining mishaps on pit road.

Dario Franchitti, the 2010 Indy 500 winner and series champion, closed the gap on Power in the series points race. By finishing 12th on Sunday, Franchitti, who is in second place, now trails Power by only 16 points. Oriol Servia, who came in sixth in the 500, is third, 42 points behind Power with 12 races left in the IndyCar season.