Soccer Fans Are Debating a Crucial No-Call on Spain Handball That Kept Germany at Bay

In extra time, Spain would defeat Germany to advance in UEFA Euro 2024 with a late header goal to take a 2-1 lead. Just before, in the 105th minute, Germany's Jamal Musiala sent a shot toward the net with his right foot. Spain's Marc Cucurella slid in to defend, but his left hand made contact with the ball as he attempted to get his arms down at his side.
Here's a look at the incident, which was not called for a penalty:
No handball was given for this, do you agree with the call? 🤔 pic.twitter.com/tEcm0x0VtT
— FOX Soccer (@FOXSoccer) July 5, 2024
Plenty of fans on social media thought it an obvious penalty:
This kind of stuff is getting out of hand. These refs are supposed to be some of the best of the best. Amateur officiating going on at the Euros and Copa America
— The Football Lounge (@FootballLoungee) July 5, 2024
That’s a penalty…
— ⚽Santiago Alejandro⚽ (@SantiAlejandro_) July 5, 2024
Others thought a no-call was the right decision:
Judging by the reaction on here I guess I’m in the minority. I don’t want that being a pen. Arms down by his side. Not much he can do. I always say intent isn’t hard to judge in these situations. But I also think there are way too many handball pens given.
— steve ceruti (@Ceruti) July 5, 2024
(I bet Germany btw) https://t.co/Tu714IUMz1
The laws of the game are clear that, for non-goalkeepers, "not every touch of a player's hand/arm with the ball is a [handball]." The rulebook goes on to say a handball is a penalty if the player deliberately touches the ball with their hand or arm, or if they have made their body, "unnaturally bigger," within the play, or if they score in their opponents' goal directly from their hand/arm accidentally.
The rule was debated by UEFA in April of last year.
This is one of those gray areas that makes it a very tough play to judge. At first glance, it looks to be an obvious handball, but re-reading the rules of the game, one could make the argument that Cucurella was not making his body bigger, nor did he touch the ball purposefully.
Such an explanation won't be satisfying for Germany supporters, though.
In the end, no handball was called, and Spain advanced. They will face the winner of the match between France and Portugal on Tuesday.